T.I.M.E– The Importance of the Mix Engineer

The average listener definitely knows about the artist/ band. They might have a clue about the producer, if he/she is well-known like Missy, Bryan Michael Cox, Brian Eno.  Most people never know about the person that is the glue of a musical project…the audio engineer.

I find it amusing when I meet a potential client and they say to me “a man why should I pay you to record me? my cousin got Protools at the crib and a mic…he will do it for free.”  My general response is..”cool..have him record you, but understand that what you are paying for is my skills to provide a professional quality track, not my gear.”

The engineer plays probably the most important role in the music project.  They are responsible for taking the artist and producers cognitive vision of how a song should sound and make it into a reality, using tools and their ability to manipulate sound.

The engineer is essentially responsible for the mix and ensuring proper signal chain and micing techniques are used…which can be the difference between a track that sounds good and one that is a multi-platinum, Grammy hit.

A lot of people think that when it comes to recording music all you need is a mic, some recording software, and a closet with 10,000 egg carts stapled on the inside (which is a myth…they do not work as sound treatment for your room…so stop using them and recycle).

When it comes to mixing it is a true art form within itself.  It’s a craft that takes years upon years to understand.  A craft that I am still studying and trying to grow better at.

Mixing takes a lot of time, patience, and energy…you try listening to the same song over and over and over again in efforts to sonically perfect it.

Next time you listen to your favorite song remember that there was some person (usually a nerdy white guy…JK JK JK LOL…well wait it is kinda true :-/ ) that took the time out to ensure what your’e listening to was the best performance.

Check this out….This is Sam Thomas.  He is Bryan Michael Cox go to mix engineer.  He has mixed records for Mary J Blidge, Usher, Indie Arie, Jay Z, Alicia Keys, Chris “cry baby” Brown,and many more heavy hitters in the game…JUSTIN BIEBIER!!!!!

Tommorrow we will talk about the importance of arrangement…So I wanted to give you a heads up…so you definetly gotta tune in.

I will leave you with tomorrow feature video artist.  Here is Mary J with Hood Love

Printing These Thoughts to Tape,

L.Byrd

Leave a comment